It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Women's, Gender, and Sexuality Studies: Home
Women's, Gender, and Sexuality Studies are interdisciplinary fields including the humanities, science, and the social sciences.
Reference books are a great place to get an overview of a topic, or to look up a specific piece of information. The best academic reference books often provide bibliographies of additional sources of information.
Please Note: EBSCO Academic ebooks are not included in CYRIL, but they are included in our Discover search. They are only available to the Siena community.
Encyclopedia of Gender and Society by Jodi A. O'Brien (Editor)A comprehensive, two-volume encyclopedia covering the major theories, research, people and issues in contemporary gender studies. The work will be distinguished by a cross-nationaloss-cultural perspective providing comparative analyses of life experiences of men and women around the world.
Gender and Women's Leadership by Karen O'Connor (Editor)This work is part of the SAGE Reference Series on Leadership and provides undergraduate students with an authoritative reference resource on leadership issues specific to women and gender. It covers historical and contemporary barriers to women's leadership and issues of gender bias and discrimination, but also places a strong focus on positive aspects and opportunities for leadership in various domains. The two-volume set is centered on the 100 most important topics, issues, questions and debates specific to women and gender. By focusing on 100 key topics, more detailed information and depth of discussion is provided than typically found in an encyclopedia entry but not as much jargon, detail or density as a journal article or a research handbook chapter. Key Themes women and public leadership in the American context women's global leadership women as leaders in the business sector the nonprofit and social service sector religion academia public policy advocacy the media sports the arts.
Call Number: EBSCO Academic eBook
Publication Date: 2010
Handbook of Studies on Men and Masculinities by Jeff Hearn (Editor); Michael Kimmel (Editor); R. W. Connell (Editor)In the past, research in the field of gender has mainly addressed issues about women, and has for the most part been developed by women. Recently, the study of gender has rapidly expanded and there has been a growing interest in men's and boys' identities, conduct, and problems. The Handbook of Studies on Men and Masculinities is an interdisciplinary and international culmination of the growth of men's studies that also offers insight about future directions for the field. The Handbook provides a broad view of masculinities primarily across the social sciences, with the inclusion of important debates in some areas of the humanities and natural sciences. The various approaches presented in this Handbook range across different disciplines, theoretical perspectives, methodologies, and conceptualizations in relation to the topic of men. Editors Michael S Kimmel, Jeff Hearn, and Robert W Connell have assembled an esteemed group of contributors who are among the best-known experts in their particular fields. The Handbook of Studies on Men and Masculinities examines the construction of masculinities in four different frames: the social organization of masculinities in their global and regional iterations; the institutional reproduction and articulation of masculinities; the ways in which masculinities are organized and practiced within a context of gender relations; and the ways in which individual men express and understand their gendered identities. The Handbook is organized in a way that moves from the larger, global, and institutional articulations of masculinities, to the more intimate and personal expressions. The Handbook of Studies on Men and Masculinities provides scholars, researchers, and students with the most current, incisive scholarship available for the men's studies area of gender studies. It is a vital resource for those interested in the practical or cultural issues about men, boys, and gender, as well as an excellent addition to any academic library.
About the Women's, Gender, and Sexuality Studies Guide
Women's, Gender, and Sexuality Studies are interdisciplinary fields including the humanities, science, and the social sciences. The resources included in this guide come from many academic disciplines, activist and nonprofit organizations, government sources, and popular culture sources. This guide is not meant to be exhaustive.
From the first European encounters with Native American women to today's crisis of sexual assault, The Oxford Handbook of American Women's and Gender History boldly interprets the diverse history of women and how ideas about gender shaped their access to political and cultural power in NorthAmerica.Over twenty-nine chapters, this handbook illustrates how women's and gender history can shape how we view the past, looking at how gender influenced people's lives as they participated in migration, colonialism, trade, warfare, artistic production, and community building. Theoretically cutting edge,each chapter is alive with colorful historical characters, from young Chicanas transforming urban culture, to free women of color forging abolitionist doctrines, Asian migrant women defending the legitimacy of their marriages, and transwomen fleeing incarceration. Together, their lives constitutethe history of a continent.Leading scholars across multiple generations demonstrate the power of innovative research to excavate a history hidden in plain sight. Scrutinizing silences in the historical record, from the inattention to enslaved women's opinions to the suppression of Indian women's involvement in borderdiplomacy, the authors challenge the nature of historical evidence and remap what counts in our interpretation of the past. Together and separately, these essays offer readers a deep understanding of the variety and centrality of women's lives to all dimensions of the American past, even as they show that the boundaries of "women," "American," and "history" have shifted across the centuries.