It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Women's, Gender, and Sexuality Studies: Find Books
Women's, Gender, and Sexuality Studies are interdisciplinary fields including the humanities, science, and the social sciences.
Headstrong : 52 women who changed science-- and the world
The Only Woman in the Room by Eileen PolllackNamed one of the notable nonfiction books of 2015 by The Washington Post A bracingly honest exploration of why there are still so few women in the hard sciences, mathematics, engineering, and computer science In 2005, when Lawrence Summers, then president of Harvard, asked why so few women, even today, achieve tenured positions in the hard sciences, Eileen Pollack set out to find the answer. A successful fiction writer, Pollack had grown up in the 1960s and '70s dreaming of a career as a theoretical astrophysicist. Denied the chance to take advanced courses in science and math, she nonetheless made her way to Yale. There, despite finding herself far behind the men in her classes, she went on to graduate summa cum laude, with honors, as one of the university's first two women to earn a bachelor of science degree in physics. And yet, isolated, lacking in confidence, starved for encouragement, she abandoned her ambition to become a physicist. Years later, spurred by the suggestion that innate differences in scientific and mathematical aptitude might account for the dearth of tenured female faculty at Summer's institution, Pollack thought back on her own experiences and wondered what, if anything, had changed in the intervening decades. Based on six years interviewing her former teachers and classmates, as well as dozens of other women who had dropped out before completing their degrees in science or found their careers less rewarding than they had hoped, The Only Woman in the Room is a bracingly honest, no-holds-barred examination of the social, interpersonal, and institutional barriers confronting women--and minorities--in the STEM fields. This frankly personal and informed book reflects on women's experiences in a way that simple data can't, documenting not only the more blatant bias of another era but all the subtle disincentives women in the sciences still face. The Only Woman in the Room shows us the struggles women in the sciences have been hesitant to admit, and provides hope for changing attitudes and behaviors in ways that could bring far more women into fields in which even today they remain seriously underrepresented.
Call Number: HQ 1397 .P65 2015
Publication Date: 2015-09-15
Women, Science, and Myth by Sue V. Rosser (Editor)This encyclopedia surveys the scientific research on gender throughout the ages—the people, experiments, and impact—of both legitimate and illegitimate findings on the scientific community, women scientists, and society at large. * Chronologically organized entries describing people and events influential in the development of scientific research on gender * 40 thematic entries looking at larger issues across regions, disciplines, and historical eras * A section of supportive demographic/statistical information
Call Number: HQ 1075 .W675 2008
Publication Date: 2008
Gender in Medieval Culture by Michelle M. SauerGender in Medieval Culture provides a detailed examination of medieval society's views on both gender and sexuality, and shows how they are inextricably linked. Sex roles were clearly defined in the medieval world although there were exceptions to the rules, and this book examines both the commonplace world view and the exceptions to it. The volume looks not only at the social and economic considerations of gender but also the religious and legal implications, arguing that both ecclesiastical and secular laws governed behaviour. The book covers key topics, including femininity and masculinity and how medieval society constructed these terms; sexuality and sex; transgressive sexualities such as homosexuality, adultery and chastity; and the gendered body of Christ, including the idea of Jesus as mother and affective spirituality. Using a clear chapter structure for easy navigation and categorisation, as well as a glossary of terms, the book will be a vital resource for students of medieval history.
Call Number: HQ 1147.E6 S28 2015
Publication Date: 2015
The Oxford Handbook of Theology, Sexuality, and Gender by Adrian Thatcher (Editor)The Oxford Handbook of Theology, Sexuality, and Gender presents an unrivalled overview of the theological study of sexuality and gender. These topics are not merely contentious and pervasive: they have escalated in importance within theology. Theologians increasingly agree that even the very doctrine of God cannot be contemplated without a prior grappling with each. Featuring 41 newly-commissioned essays, written by some of the foremost scholars in the discipline, this authoritative collection presents and develops the latest thinking in these areas. Divided into eight thematic sections, the Handbook explores: methodological approaches; contributions from neighbouring disciplines; sexuality and gender in the Bible, and in the Christian tradition; controversies within the churches, and within four of the non-Christian faiths; and key concepts and issues. The final, extended section considers theology in relation to married people and families; gay and lesbian people; bisexual people; intersex and transgender people; disabled people; and to friends. This volume is an essential reference for students and scholars, which will also stimulate further research.
"gender in the stories, scripts, novels, and Twilight zone episodes"
Ruling Women by Stacy S. KleinIn Ruling Women, Stacy S. Klein explores how queens functioned asimaginative figures in Anglo-Saxon texts. Focusing on pre-Conquestworks ranging from Bede to Aelfric, Klein argues that Anglo-Saxonwriters drew upon accounts of legendary royal wives to constructcultural ideals of queenship during a time when that institution wasundergoing profound change. Also a study of gender, her bookexamines how Anglo-Saxon writers used women of the highest socialrank to forge broader cultural ideals of femininity, even as they usedfemale voices to articulate far less comfortable social truths.Capitalizing on queens' strong associations with intercession, Anglo-Saxon writers consistently looked to royal women as mediatoryfigures for negotiating sustained tensions
Call Number: PR179.W65 K55 2006
Publication Date: 2006
Gender, Culture, and Consumer Behavior by Cele C. Otnes (Editor); Linda Tuncay Zayer (Editor)When considering how we should introduce this volume, we reflected on our own lives as women who both grew up in America, but whose heritages are distinct. We are both daughters of male liberal arts professors who provided most of the family income, while our mothers focused on child-rearing and community activities, as well as by-choice educational pursuits and forays into the working world. Linda is a first-generation American whose parents emigrated to the U.S. in 1970. Cele's ancestors were early U.S. settlers whose families relied on hard work and the G.I. Bill to fend off blows dealt by the Depression. We decided to offer examples of how gender, culture and consumption intersect in memories that demonstrate the dramatic and dynamic changes in these three areas over our lifetimes--
Call Number: HF5415.32 .G457 2012
Publication Date: 2012
Gender, Development and Globalization by Lourdes Benería; Günseli Berik; Maria FloroSecond Edition
Gender, Development, and Globalization is the leading primer on global feminist economics and development. Lourdes Benería, a pioneer in the field of feminist economics, is joined in this second edition by Gunseli Berik and Maria Floro to update the text to reflect the major theoretical, empirical, and methodological contributions and global developments in the last decade. Its interdisciplinary investigation remains accessible to a broad audience interested in an analytical treatment of the impact of globalization processes on development and wellbeing in general and on social and gender equality in particular. The revision will continue to provide a wide-ranging discussion of the strategies and policies that hold the most promise in promoting equitable and sustainable development. The authors make the case for feminist economics as a useful framework to address major contemporary global challenges, such as inequalities between the global South and North as well as within single countries; persistent poverty; and increasing vulnerability to financial crises, food crises, and climate change. The authors' approach is grounded in the intellectual current of feminism and human development, drawing on Amartya Sen's capability approach and focused on the importance of the care economy, increasing pressures faced by women, and the failures of neoliberal reforms to bring about sustainable development, reduction in poverty, inequality, and vulnerability to economic crisis.
Call Number: HQ 1381 .B46 2016
Publication Date: 2016
The Oxford Handbook of Gender in Organizations by Savita Kumra (Editor); Ruth Simpson (Editor); Ronald Burke (Editor)The Oxford Handbook of Gender in Organizations is a comprehensive analysis of thinking and research on gender in organizations with original contributions from key international scholars in the field. It looks at the theoretical roots and potential for theoretical development in this field; examines leadership and management and the gender issues arising in this field; considers the gendered nature of careers; and lastly assesses masculinity inorganizations. In bringing together a broad range of research and thinking on gender in organizations across a number of disciplines, sub-disciplines, and conceptual perspectives, the Handbook provides a comprehensiveview of both contemporary thinking and future research directions.
Call Number: HD 6060.6 .O94 2014
Publication Date: 2014
Why Gender Matters in Economics by Mukesh EswaranGender matters in economics--for even with today's technology, fertility choices, market opportunities, and improved social norms, economic outcomes for women remain markedly worse than for men. Drawing on insights from feminism, postmodernism, psychology, evolutionary biology, Marxism, and politics, this textbook provides a rigorous economic look at issues confronting women throughout the world--including nonmarket scenarios, such as marriage, family, fertility choice, and bargaining within households, as well as market areas, like those pertaining to labor and credit markets and globalization. Mukesh Eswaran examines how women's behavioral responses in economic situations and their bargaining power within the household differ from those of men. Eswaran then delves into the far-reaching consequences of these differences in both market and nonmarket domains. The author considers how women may be discriminated against in labor and credit markets, how their family and market circumstances interact, and how globalization has influenced their lives. Eswaran also investigates how women have been empowered through access to education, credit, healthcare, and birth control; changes in ownership laws; the acquisition of suffrage; and political representation. Throughout, Eswaran applies sound economic analysis and new modeling approaches, and each chapter concludes with exercises and discussion questions. This textbook gives readers the necessary tools for thinking about gender from an economic perspective. Addresses economic issues for women throughout the world, in both developed and developing countries Looks at both market and nonmarket domains Requires only a background in basic economic principles Includes the most recent research on the economics of gender in a range of areas Concludes each chapter with exercises and discussion questions
Call Number: HQ 1381 .E89 2014
Publication Date: 2014
Women and Business Since 1500 by Béatrice CraigThis volume surveys the role women have played in various types of business as owners, co-owners and decision-making managers in European and North American societies since the sixteenth century. Drawing on up-to-date scholarship, it identifies the economic, social, legal and cultural factors that have facilitated or restricted women's participation in business. It pays particular attention to the ways in which gender norms, and their evolution, shaped not only those women's experience of business, but the ways they were perceived by contemporaries, documented in sources and, partly as a consequence, viewed by historians.
Call Number: HD 6053 .C83 2016
Publication Date: 2015
Books: Social Sciences
The Age of Scientific Sexism by Mari RutiWe trust our sciences to operate on a plane of objectivity and fact in a world of subjectivity and cultural ideologies, but should we? In The Age of Scientific Sexism, philosopher Mari Ruti offers a sharp critique of the gender profiling tendencies of evolutionary psychology, untangling the insidious threads of various gender mythologies that have infiltrated-or perhaps even define-this faux-science. Selling stereotypes as scientific facts, evolutionary psychology continually brings retrograde models of sexuality into mainstream culture: it insists that men and women live in two completely different psychological, emotional, and sexual universes, and that they will consequently always be locked in a vicious battle of the sexes. Among these regressive arguments is the assumption that men's sexuality is urgent and indiscriminate, whereas women are "naturally" reluctant, reticent, and choosy-a concept constructed to justify masculine behavior, such as cheating, that women have historically found painful. On its most basic level, The Age of Scientific Sexism explores our impulse to "explain" romantic behavior through science: in the increasingly egalitarian gender landscape of our society, why are we so eager to embrace the rampant gender profiling that evolutionary psychology promotes? Perhaps these simplistic gender caricatures owe their popularity, at least in part, to our overly pragmatic society pragmatic society, which encourages us to search for easy answers to complex questions.
Gender and Global Justice by Alison M. Jaggar (Editor)Issues of global justice have received increasing attention in academic philosophy in recent years but the gendered dimensions of these issues are often overlooked or treated as peripheral. This groundbreaking collection by Alison Jaggar brings gender to the centre of philosophical debates about global justice. The explorations presented here range far beyond the limited range of issues often thought to constitute feminists? concerns about global justice, such as female seclusion, genital cutting, and sex trafficking. Instead, established and emerging scholars expose the gendered and racialized aspects of transnational divisions of paid and unpaid labor, class formation, taxation, migration, mental health, the so-called resource curse, and conceptualizations of violence, honor, and consent. Jaggar's introduction explains how these and other feminist investigations of the transnational order raise deep challenges to assumptions about justice that for centuries have underpinned Western political philosophy. Taken together the pieces in this volume present a sustained philosophical engagement with gender and global justice. Gender and Global Justice provides an accessible and original perspective on this important field and looks set to reframe philosophical reflection on global justice.
The Sociology of Gender by Amy S. WhartonFeaturing extensive revisions and updates, the Second Edition of The Sociology of Gender: An Introduction to Theory and Research presents an introductory overview of gender theory and research, and continues to offer a unique and compelling approach to one of the most important topics in the field of sociology. Features extensive revisions and updates, and incorporates recent cross-national research on gender Expands and develops frameworks introduced in first edition Treats gender as a multilevel system operating at the individual, interactional, and institutional levels Stresses conceptual and theoretical issues in the sociology of gender Offers an accessible yet intellectually sophisticated approach to current gender theory and research Includes pedagogical features designed to encourage critical thinking and debate