Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Survey of English Literature I: Books

This guide has been created to support student research in ENGL 200, Survey of English Literature I.

Books

The Survey of English Literature Guide incorporates a variety of resources including books, databases, journal articles, and websites. Let's focus on books.  The Standish Library's collection includes both e-books and print books. This page focuses on how to identify and locate them.

Request a book from another library

ConnectNY - is a group of libraries within New York State whose members have created a combined catalog of their collections.

Interlibrary Loan  - Tipasa is the electronic system you use to request an item through Interlibrary Loan. 

WorldCat

WorldCat lets you search for books and other resources from libraries through out the United States, as well as the rest of the world.

Worldcat

Search for an item in libraries near you:
WorldCat.org >>

Search the Standish Library Catalog

CYRIL

Saint Search

Search All Book Formats

Search all book formats

CYRIL

CYRIL is the Standish Library's traditional catalog. It includes all of the library's print books and many of the e-books.  CYRIL also includes the library's dvd and cd collections.

Saint Search

Saint Search searches almost everything, including all of our books (e-books and print).  It searches most of Siena's databases which means it also looks for articles: journal articles, newspaper articles, and articles from periodicals of news and commentary.  Saint Search also provides some content not otherwise available from the Standish Library. Saint Search provides an enormous amount of content, which means one must take extra care in searching.  Luckily, Saint Search provides multiple ways to narrow searches.  Need help with Saint Search?  Check with a librarian.

 

Search All Book Formats

Want to search for books--just books? Use this "Search All Book Formats" function available in this research guide.  It is basically searching Saint Search and eliminating everything except books.