It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Loyalists were American colonists who supported Great Britain during the American Revolutionary War. About 20 percent of Americans between 1775 and 1783 were estimated to have been Loyalists. Patriots, the revolutionaries who fought for independence against Great Britain, intimidated and harassed Loyalists throughout the war.
Elizabeth Fenn entered her citations and geographic coordinates for each episode of smallpox that she fond (1775-1782) into GIS in order to display her dat visually across space and time.
Research Resources for Lucy & Henry Knox
The Revolutionary War Lives and Letters of Lucy and Henry Knox by Phillip HamiltonIn 1774, Boston bookseller Henry Knox married Lucy Waldo Flucker, the daughter of a prominent Tory family. Although Lucy's father was the third-ranking colonial official in Massachusetts, the couple joined the American cause after the Battles of Lexington and Concord and fled British-occupied Boston. Knox became a soldier in the Continental Army, where he served until the war's end as Washington's artillery commander. While Henry is well known to historians, his private life and marriage to Lucy remain largely unexplored. Phillip Hamilton tells the fascinating story of the Knoxes' relationship amid the upheavals of war. Like John and Abigail Adams, the Knoxes were often separated by the revolution and spent much of their time writing to one another. They penned nearly 200 letters during the conflict, more than half of which are reproduced and annotated for this volume. This correspondence--one of the few collections of letters between revolutionary-era spouses that spans the entire war--provides a remarkable window into the couple's marriage. Placed at the center of great events, struggling to cope with a momentous conflict, and attempting to preserve their marriage and family, the Knoxes wrote to each other in a direct and accessible manner as they negotiated shifts in gender and power relations. Working together, Henry and Lucy maintained their household and protected their property, raised and educated their children, and emotionally adjusted to other dramatic changes within their family, including a total break between Lucy and her Tory family. Combining original epistles with Hamilton's introductory essays, The Revolutionary War Lives and Letters of Lucy and Henry Knox offers important insights into how this relatable and highly individual couple overcame the war's challenges.
This book is presently available in the Emergency Internate Archive.
A classic oral history of the American Revolution, The Revolution Remembered uses 79 first-hand accounts from veterans of the war to provide the reader with the feel of what it must have been like to fight and live through America's bloody battle for independence.
More than 70,000 items cover five hundred years of American history, from Columbus’s 1493 letter describing the New World to soldiers’ letters from World War II and Vietnam. Explore primary sources, visit exhibitions in person or online, or bring your class on a field trip
Our online resources are sets of digitized items which have been organized either around a common topic, such as the American Revolution, or to highlight a specific collection, such as the papers of Thomas Jefferson.
Rotunda’s Founding Era Collection is an integrated research environment that covers the correspondence of a number of key figures from America’s founding era. This page explains how to use its various features.
Search all eBook collections
HathiTrust contains millions of digital books, journals, government documents, and other volumes, all digitized from research libraries.
The papers of Alexander Hamilton (ca. 1757-1804), first treasury secretary of the United States, consist of his personal and public correspondence, drafts of his writings (although not his Federalist essays), and correspondence among members of the Hamilton and Schuyler families.
George Washington, Benjamin Franklin, John Adams (and family), Thomas Jefferson, Alexander Hamilton, and James Madison. Over 183,000 searchable documents, fully annotated, from the authoritative Founding Fathers Papers projects.
The complete George Washington Papers collection from the Manuscript Division at the Library of Congress consists of approximately 65,000 documents. This is the largest collection of original Washington documents in the world. Document types in the collection as a whole include correspondence, letterbooks, commonplace books, diaries, journals, financial account books, military records, reports, and notes accumulated by Washington from 1741 through 1799.
Books Referenced in Hamilton's "The Revolutionary War Lives and Letters"
The article discusses the patriotism and devotion to her husband of Lucy Flucker Knox (her maiden name is Lucy Flucker), wife of the book seller and American Revolutionary War U.S. Continental Army officer Henry Knox
Women in the American Revolution by Barbara B. Oberg (Editor)
Suffering Soldiers by John P. ReschThis text examines how the moral sentiment of gratitude, as expressed in the image of the suffering soldier, transformed the memory of the Revolutionary War, political culture and public policy in the early American republic.
Publication Date: 2000-05-01
Henry Knox by Mark Puls
Publication Date: 2008-02-05
The American Revolution, 1754-1805 by Peter Kratzke (Editor); Salem Press EditorsThe American Revolution (1754-1805) chronicles key documents during the revolutionary era. Included are founding documents, speeches and political tracts, political sermons, and letters. Also included are Native American and African slave narratives.