The images here are selected from the treasures of the J. Spencer & Patricia Standish Library's Convivium Collection of medieval and early modern manuscripts, manuscript leaves and book leaves. Most of these items were produced in Europe between 1200 and 1685. Siena College's curriculum includes an interdisciplinary program in Medieval and Renaissance Studies. This collection and many other materials in the Library's special collections help to support this program and several courses in literature, history, religious studies and creative arts. These and other special materials can be viewed in the Archives and Special Collections Reading Room of Siena College Library.
1) Pannonhalmi. The Book of hours of Pannonhalma. Budapest: Corvina Kiad’o, Helikon Kiado’om, c 1985, c 1982.
2) Clovio, Giulio, 1498-1578
The Farnese Hours. NY: Braziller, c 1976. Facsimile of late 15th century manuscript
3) Book of Hours [Offizum der Madonna]. Zurich: Belser Verlag, c 1984 . Facsimile of late 15th century manuscript.
4) The Travels of Sir John Mandeville. NY: Braziller, c 1983. Reproduction of manuscript in the British Library.
5) King Rene’s Book of Love. NY: Braziller, 1975. Copy of 15th century illuminated manuscript.
6) Cloisters Apocalypse. NY: Metropolitan Museum, 1971. Copy of early 15th century manuscript.
7) Gutenberg Bible. NY: Brussel & Brussel, 1968. Facsimile in 3 volumes of the famous printed Latin Bible, 1454-55.
1) Oresme, Nicolle, 1320-1382
Le Livre du Ciel du Monde. Madison: University of Wisconsin Press, c. 1968.
2) Oresme, Nicolle, 1320-1382
De Proportionibus Proportionum and Ad Pauca Respicientes. Madison: University of Wisconsin Press, c. 1966.
3) Oresme, Nicolle, 1320-1382
Tractatus de Commensurabilitate vel Incommensurabilitate Motuum Celi.
Madison: University of Wisconsin, Press, c. 1971
4) M’Ezi‘eres, Philippe de, 1327?-1405
Le Songe du Vieil Pelerin. London: Cambridge University Press, 1969.
5) The Equatorie of the Planetis: A manuscript
Treatise ascribed to Chaucer. London:
Cambridge University Press. c 1955
Reproduction, translation and description of the
14th Century manuscript in the Library of Peterhouse,
6) Meiss, Millard
French Painting in the Time of Jean DeBerry.
The Boucicaut Master. NY: Phaidon. c. 1968
7) Meiss, Millard
French Painting in the Time of Jean DeBerry:
Late XIV Century and Patronage of the Duke.
2 vols. NY: Phaidon. c. 1969
8) Meiss, Millard
French Painting in the Time of Jean DeBerry: the
Limbourgs and their Contemporaries. 2 vols.
NY: Phaidon. 1974
9) Pare, Ambroise, 1510?-1590
Apologie and treatise of Ambroise Pare containing
the voyages made into divers places with many of
his writings upon surgery.
London: Falcon Educational Books. C. 1951
Reprint and translation of a famous late 16th
Century Surgical Autobiography.
1) Grotius, Hugo.
Historia Gotthorum, Vandalorum, & Langobardorum. Amsterdam: Louis Elzevier, 1655.
2) Minsheu, John.
Hegemon Eis Tas Glossas. Id est Ductor in Linguas. [Guide to the Tongues]. 1617.
3) St. Bonaventure
Opuscolorum Theologicorum. 1611.
4) Calefatus, Petrus.
Ennarationes in L. 1564.
5) Catonis (Cato)
Methodus Restica. Basil: Petri Perne, 1576.
6) Newcastle, Margaret Cavendish
The Life of the Thrice Prince William Cavendishe…
London: B. Maxwell, 1675
Donations to the Convivium Center or the Convivium Collection are most welcome. Address inquiries to:
Dr. Pamela J. Clements
Director of Convivium: Siena Center for Medieval and Early Modern Studies
515 Loudon Road
Loudonville, New York 12211
Loretta H. Ebert
Director of Library and AV Library
515 Loudon Road
Loudonville, NY 12211
1) Torah (Hebrew) - Original leaf on extremely heavy vellum, circa 16th century.
2) Koran (Arabic) - Handwritten large manuscript leaf of fine quality. Imposing example from Persia circa 1553-1558.
3) Antiphoner or Choir Missal (Latin) - Circa Spain 1650. This leaf is on extremely heavy vellum. Text is in rounded Gothic hand. The six lines of music and verse are on a stave formed of five lines.
4) Breviary (German) - Leaf from 15th century northern German monastery. German Gothic script in black ink on vellum. The first line exhibits a wonderful example of a flourished letter ascender. Text is from St. Bonaventure’s Opera and possibly his sermons.
5) Book of Hours (Latin) - Leaf dates from France, 1450-1475. Twelve lines of Gothic text in Latin on vellum. Verso has one initial “C” in highly burnished gold on a multicolor ground. Recto has twelve lines of Gothic text with rubricating on the last line.
6) Summa de Casibus of Bartolomeo da San Concorio 1261-1347 (Latin). Leaf from 1424-1450 Southern Germany or Austria. From encyclopedia of canon law.
7) Postilla Super Epistolas et Evangelista by William of Paris. Nuremburg: Anton Koberger, 1493.
Quarto size. Latin text in black letter typed n double columns. Rubrication throughout text and initials, all hand painted in right
red ink. Original leaf.
8) King James Bible. London: Robert Barker, 1611.
A page from the first edition of the King James Bible.
9) Grant by John Baker, # 1536. Dated 1468/70
13 lines black ink on Vellum with seal and translation.
10) Charter by which William Heyne of Risscheton
gives to his son, John, a grange near Rushton.
Vellum, dated 1387 England
11 lines of text in brown ink, #257
11) Papal Bull of Innocent IV. #D1994
Document on Vellum. Rome, 20 June 1244.
Church document approving the Breviary of
The Friars Minor.
12) Leaf of a Breviary. Northern France, ca 1400
13) Norman Charter of Ardenne Abbey, # D129
Document on Vellum, Normandy, vicinity of Caen, Ca. 1200. A charter of Walter deAgnell conveying to Renardus de Villa Tierri, lands which he holds from Ardenne Abbey.
14) Charter of the Convent of Santa Cruce.
Document on Vellum. Italy. 13 March 1409
15) Leaf from Legal Manuscript, Seville, Spain, 1602
Legal document on vellum related to family lineage. Partly written in Seville, 1602. Completed in Mexico City in 1641. The page contains a large illuminated E and elaborate boarding, with initials in gold leaf.
16) Letter signed by Ferdinand (Yo el Rey)
Madrid. 2 January 1503.
17) Indenture granting land on vellum with wax seal, English, reign of Henry VIII. Cobhan, Kent, 23 May 1538.
18) Illuminated Patent of Nobility. Manuscript on vellum. Valladolid. 13 August 1605-1607
Patent of nobility, issued to Diego Belarde DeAguilar on his own account and on behalf of his brother Juan, reciting the patent granted by Charles V and the services of their father, Rodrigo. Includes a finely-illuminated miniature of the Virgin and a full-page illuminated coat of arms. vellum. 25pgs. folio.
19) Three Leaves from the Nuremberg Chronicle Printed by Koberger. Nuremberg. 102 July 1493.
Genuine leaves from the Nuremberg Chronicle the richest illustrated incunable, published in the year Columbus returned to Europe after discovering America. Pages include woodcuts by Michael Wolgemut, the well-known teacher of Albrecht Durer. The Chronicle began with the creation of the world and ends with the events of the 15th century A.D.
20) Document from the Reign of Elizabeth I. 1581.
A charter on vellum relating to property in Thiplow, Cambridgeshire, with 2 red wax seals.
21) Signed Letter on Paper with Fine Paper Seal.
Mantua. 13 January 1595.
From Vicenzo Gonzaga, Duke of Mantua (1587-1612), patron of Tasso and Rubens, to Signor Baron (Ambassador for the Holy Roman Emperor) extending hospitality.
22) Papal Indulgence from the reign of Calixtus III, 1455-1458.
Manuscript on parchment, 13 in. by 17 in.
23) Leaf from the first printed translation of the Old Testament in Irish. Translated by William Bedel, Bishop of Kilmore, Ireland.
Printed in London, 1685.