Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Chemistry: Web Resources

A guide to chemistry resources to assist you in your research.

Featured resource

"...is a free chemical structure database providing fast text and structure search access to over 28 million structures from hundreds of data sources."

Bioinformatics

"The mission of UniProt is to provide the scientific community with a comprehensive, high-quality and freely accessible resource of protein sequence and functional information."

From the NCBI, a search engine that mines data from all of the NCBI databases.

Structure and Property Resources

BRENDA

"The Comprehensive Enzyme Information System" A database covering over 5000 enzymes, classified according to the Enzyme Commission (EC) that was developed and is maintained by the Institute of Biochemistry and Bioinformatics at the Technical University of Braunschweig, Germany."

ChemSpider

"...is a free chemical structure database providing fast text and structure search access to over 28 million structures from hundreds of data sources."

Household Products Database (NLM)

"This database links over 12,000 consumer brands to health effects from Material Safety Data Sheets (MSDS) provided by manufacturers and allows scientists and consumers to research products based on chemical ingredients."

Material Safety Data

Login required for Siena information

NIST Chemistry WebBook

"This site provides thermochemical, thermophysical, and ion energetics data compiled by NIST under the Standard Reference Data Program."

PubChem

Provides information on the biological activities of small molecules and is organized into three linked databases: PubChem Substance, PubChem Compound, and PubChem BioAssay.

TOXNET

"Databases on toxicology, hazardous chemicals, environmental health, and toxic releases."

General Chemistry Resources

WWW Chemistry Guide-search engine of only chemistry related resources on the web

Envirofacts database (from the EPA)

Eric Weisstein's World of Chemistry-online encyclopedia

Subject Guide

Alison Larsen's picture
Alison Larsen
Contact:
116 Standish Library
alarsen@siena.edu
518-782-6765

Spectra Resources

SDBS: Intregrated Spectral Database System for Organic Compounds

You must agree to the disclaimer to enter database.

SciFinder also provides spectra data