Standish Library: Sociology: Medical Sociology and Health Studies Resoures

Related Guides

Global Health
by Kelly MacWatters Last Updated Feb 19, 2024 5 views this year

The guide on Global Health is a terrific source for links to global health organizations, e..g. United Nations, OECD, and World Health Organization. Also for links to United States government sources of information.

History of Medical Socioloy

The Word as Scalpel by Samuel W. Bloom
Call Number: e-book
ISBN: 9780195072327
Publication Date: 2002

Recommended Databases for Locating Scholarly Articles

Students studying medial sociology will use many of the sources listed throughout this research guide. However, they should also be looking for scholarly articles and other sources coming from the medical disciplines.

PubMed This link opens in a new window
PubMed comprises more than 24 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites.
CINAHL Plus with Full Text This link opens in a new window
A collection of full text content for nursing and allied health journals
APA PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
from the American Psychological Association’s (APA) this database provides peer-reviewed literature in psychology, behavioral science and mental health, including abstracts of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations. Journal coverage spans from the 1800s to the present.
Science Direct (Elsevier) This link opens in a new window
Ignore this database's title. It includes peer-reviewed content from Sociology and related disciplines.

Dictionaries and Handbooks

The SAGE Dictionary of Health and Society by Kevin White
Call Number: e-book
ISBN: 9781848605459
Publication Date: 2006
The New Blackwell companion to medical sociology by William C. Cockerham (Editor)
Call Number: e-book
ISBN: 9781444314786
Publication Date: 2010