It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Ireland 1916 Resources: Digital Collections and Websites
"Welcome to the National Library of Ireland’s online exhibition The 1916 Rising: Personalities and Perspectives. This study resource draws almost exclusively upon the collections of the National Library, including the Library’s rich holdings of books, newspapers, photographs, drawings, proclamations and, not least, manuscript material. In all, over 500 images have been selected for study and analysis.
Through the medium of contemporary documents, The 1916 Rising: personalities and perspectives focuses upon those who set the stage for the events of Easter Week 1916, the seven signatories of the proclamation, the others executed in the aftermath of the Rising, the casualties and the survivors.
We hope that you find this perspective on the Rising informative and a helpful addition to the resources available to both students and the general reader interested in this period in Irish history."
A collection of papers belonging to Fr. Francis A. Gleeson relating to his time as Catholic Military Chaplain to the 2nd Battalion Royal Munster Fusiliers during World War I. The papers include diaries detailing life at the front and religious activities, Brigade Rolls listing mainly Roman Catholic soldiers, and correspondence from the families of men missing or killed in action.
Part of UCD Library’s Curran Collection, most of these postcards were published in 1916 in the immediate aftermath of the Insurrection. They provide an excellent contemporary pictorial record of the damage to the city; one showing a “before and after” photograph of Sackville (O’Connell) Street. Some are reproductions of “under fire” photos taken by the Daily Sketch photographer and published by Easons. Other series were produced by Hely’s and Coleman’s publishers. The collection contains 37 distinct postcards (as well as duplicates) collected by Constantine Curran.
The Letters of 1916 project is the first public humanities project in Ireland. It is creating a crowd-sourced digital collection of letters written around the time of the Easter Rising (1 November 1915 – 31 October 1916).
World War Ireland is a free exhibition at the National Library of Ireland that focuses on the unique aspects of the Irish WWI experience. Running from November 2014 through to 2018, the exhibition draws on the NLI's collections of letters, diaries, recruiting posters, newspaper reports, cartoons, handbills and leaflets dating from 1914-1918.
Over the course of a year we will explore the Library of Trinity College Dublin's research collections relating to the 1916 Easter Rising, through a regular series of blog posts.
Posts will focus on one extraordinary item or collection each week and will include diaries, letters, pamphlets, photographs, objects and even items of clothing.