The Fine Arts Collection, which constitutes the bulk of the artwork at Siena, is comprised of approximately 1,000 works of art, including paintings, sculpture, works on paper, photographs, textiles, decorative arts, and artifacts. Most of the Collection dates from the 19th and 20th centuries with a focus on American and European artists, but also includes a collection of Pre-Columbian textiles and African objects. Assembled through a combination of purchases and gifts from a variety of donors, the Collection is displayed in several buildings on campus, with the Library serving as the primary exhibition space. Visitors are welcome to browse whenever the building is open.
The second floor in particular showcases several pieces, including those donated by Pierre R. Bretey. As the Library's designated quiet floor, the space is ideal for browsing and reflection.
Also on the second floor is the Yates Gallery, which houses temporary exhibits and events throughout the academic year.
Currently the Collection is undergoing inventory and restoration. Please reach out to the Library with specific questions about displaying art or using it for instruction purposes.
Welcome to the Art Collection! Siena houses a rich collection of original art pieces for viewing in person or online. In addition, framed reproductions are readily available for check out and display -- as easy as checking out a book -- through the Studio Standish program. This guide provides information on the Fine Arts Collection as a whole, Studio Standish, and the Library Collection, which was acquired specifically for display in the library building. As always, librarians are waiting to answer questions. Enjoy!
The Siena College Fine Art Collection originated in the late 1950s largely through gifts made by financier and railroad securities expert Pierre Rizzi Bretey. Mr. Bretey donated a substantial number of works from his own collection to the College noting “At the time, Siena had nothing in the way of art and I found myself in the position to fill the gap.” This was the beginning of long-standing relationship between the donor and Siena College. The works on view on the second floor represent the most significant and dynamic works donated by Mr. Bretey to the College’s Fine Art Collection and illustrate his breadth of collecting interests.
Mr. Bretey was born in 1898 in Quincy, Massachusetts. His family settled in New York City shortly after his birth where he resided for the rest of his life. He graduated from Amherst College in 1919 and then attended New York University where he received an MBA and Doctorate in finance. He began his career with firms on the New York Stock Exchange and eventually became an expert on securities, particularly railroad securities, landing him the nickname “Mr. Railroad.” In addition, he was president of the New York Society of Security Analysts, was editor of “The Analysts Journal,” and authored several books, most notably Looking Ahead with Common Stocks, published in 1931 at the onset of the Great Depression.
Mr. Bretey amassed the bulk of his collection at this dark time in American history stating, “The stock market was so dull during that bleak period that I would leave my office at noon and indulge myself a little. I would go to an auction or two, buy several pieces and then resell them for profit. Many paintings I chose to hold onto.” Consequently, when the market picked up once again, Mr. Bretey found himself with the beginnings of a relatively vast and important private art collection. He also began a long-lasting love affair with the art world. In his later years, though no longer collecting, Mr. Bretey and his wife Wilma traveled throughout Europe visiting museums and churches.
Mr. Bretey regularly donated works to Siena College between 1957 and 1960. Through his generosity, the campus acquired works by American artists such as George Inness, Thomas Cole, Paul Ritter, European religious paintings and landscapes, and examples of fine French furniture and Asian decorative arts.
In 1959, Mr. Bretey received the honorary degree of Doctor of Humane Letters from Siena, and by 1960 Mr. Bretey had donated over one hundred and thirty works to the College. He added to that substantial gift in 1974 when he gave eight more notable works, including works by French artist Adrien Moreau.
Mr. Bretey intended that his contributions would become the foundation of a significant fine art collection on campus, with the hope that it would continue to grow and enhance “the artistic dimensions of the students and of the community.” Mr. Bretey died in Manhattan in 1988 and Siena College continues his legacy through the perpetual care of his gift and with additions of fine art to the permanent collection.
