Standish Library: Early American Literature (1500-1820): Databases/Scholarly Journals

Puritan Research

ATLA Religion Database with ATLASerials PLUS This link opens in a new window
ATLA Religion Database with ATLASerials combines the index to journal articles, book reviews, and collections of essays in all fields of religion with ATLA's online collection of major religion and theology journals. This database is produced by the American Theological Library Association.
Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
This multi-disciplinary database provides full text for more than 3,100 journals, including full text for nearly 2,700 peer-reviewed titles.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR provides access to more than 12 million journal articles, books, images, and primary sources in 75 disciplines.
America History & Life This link opens in a new window
index of literature covering the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present. With indexing for 1,700 journals from as far back as 1910, this database is without question the most important bibliographic reference tool for students and scholars of U.S. and Canadian history.
MLA International Bibliography w/Full Text This link opens in a new window
The essential database of literary criticism. Most coverage of scholarly work in literature, linguistics and folklore. Although MLA stretches the term "modern" broadly. Also covers theatre, film, and television history.

Founded in 1965, Early American Literature is the official journal of the MLA’s Forum on Early American Literature. It is the only journal that focuses on the scholarship and criticism of American literature through the early national period. It typically includes articles, provocations and inventions, review essays, and many book, resource, and conference reviews. For more information, visit Early American Literature‘s website.

Saint Search

Search Google Scholar & Link to Full Text @ Siena

http://lib.siena.edu/scholar

Other Useful Databases

African American Experience This link opens in a new window
Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Covers the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) from 1450 to the present, including world history, military history, women's history, history of education, and more.
Scribner Writers Series Online This link opens in a new window
Bio-critical essays on the lives and works of more than 1,400 authors from around the world. Entries include concise essays, citations, and biographical information that places the author's work in personal and historical context.