Immigration, Relocation, and Internal Migration Within the United States

Be sure you check out "Education" to see the online exhibits and a variety of documents in "The Vault."

National Park Service

FREE ACCESS. "This digital collection contains various California newspapers published since 1846. Full-text digital scans are available for selected issues of The California Star (1/9/1847 – 6/14/1848), California Star & Californian (11/18/1848 – 12/23/18), Daily Alta California (12/10/1849 – 6/2/1891), and San Francisco Call (4/1/1890 – 12/31/1913). Searchable by keyword, title, place, subject, publishing year, and holding institution. Maintained by the Center for Bibliographical Studies and Research, University of California, Riverside."

Water and Power Associates Museum

"The Los Angeles Public Library Photo Collection contains images from the 1850s to the present, documenting all aspects of life in Southern California, with an emphasis on Los Angeles." A collection within Tessa: Digital Collections of the Los Angeles Public Library.

California Department of Conservation

Museum of the City of San Francisco
Includes numerous documents, first person accounts, and photographs.

U.S. Geological Survey

Site includes photographs of the aftermath of the earthquake as well as links to related resources.

This is a terrific source. I specifically encourage you to look at the extensive collection of filmed presentations. The focus is on San Francisco and California history. Of note: the online presentation :California’s War of Extermination Against American Indians (December 1, 2022)

"Japanese in the City of San Francisco, CAL."
United States Senate. 59th Congress, 2nd Session, Document no. 147, December 18, 1906