Standish Library: CHEM165: Forensic Chemistry: Home

Helpful Sources to find a Cold Case

These news sources have a variety of cold case examples, many indicating the use of forensics in solving the case right in the title of the article/video. Your case could also very likely be covered in one of their true crime shows like 20/20 or Dateline. See links below for those resources.

ABC's Cold Cases News & Videos
Contains mostly solved cold cases.
CBS's Cold Case News
Contains both solved and unsolved cold cases.
Fox News' Cold Cases
Contains both solved and unsolved cold cases.
NBC's Cold Case Spotlight
Most of the cases included here have not been solved.

Resources/Tips for Case/Trial Information

Newsbank Access World News This link opens in a new window
New York Times This link opens in a new window
The New York Times (annual account registration) This link opens in a new window
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Check out the Case Law limiter below the search box!

Also Consider:

Where did your trial take place? Check local news agencies for coverage of the trial. There could be videos and/or transcripts available offering valuable information.
If your case was "big" enough, it may have also been covered by a true crime show. Some examples include Dateline, 20/20, 48 Hours and Forensic Files.
If your case/trial ended up being a wrongful conviction, check out The Innocence Project or The National Registry of Exonerations, organizations dedicated to investigating and fighting wrongful convictions

Finding Information on Forensic Science Concepts

HeinOnline This link opens in a new window
In addition to its vast collection of law journals, HeinOnline contains the entire Congressional Record, Federal Register, and Code of Federal Regulations, complete coverage of the U.S. Reports back to 1754, and entire databases dedicated to treaties, constitutions, case law, world trials, classic treatises, international trade, foreign relations, U.S. Presidents, and much more.
Wiley Online Library This link opens in a new window
Publishes the Journal of Forensic Sciences, among its many available journals.
Science Direct (Elsevier) This link opens in a new window
peer-reviewed full-text scientific, technical and medical content from over 2500 journals.
Saint Search (Discovery) This link opens in a new window
Search the library catalog, journals, ebook collections, databases and more.
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
search for scholarly articles on the web and connect to Standish Library subscribed resources.

Research Forensic Library from FIU
This unique library is a curated collection of publicly-accessible articles, reports, drug monographs, controlled substance notifications, historical documents, and other material relating to every discipline of the forensic sciences.
National Criminal Justice Reference Service (NCJRS) Virtual Library
a collection of over 235,000 information resources on criminal justice subjects, including corrections, courts, drugs, law enforcement, juvenile justice, victims of crime, and related topics. The Virtual Library provides access to all known OJP works and sponsored research, as well as to thousands of government products, research reports, journal articles, and published and unpublished literature...