The Fleet Special Collections Center boasts a rich array of old and rare books; autographed copies; limited edition books; documents; manuscripts; manuscript leaves; facsimile editions; photographs; maps; selected 18th, 19th and early 20th century journals; and regalia. Physical elements of the collection are showcased in the Fleet Room, while digital components are provided online via the Library’s website.
Among the featured collections we hold are:
- Franciscana Collection: includes books, documents and manuscripts on St. Francis of Assisi, the
Franciscan Orders, and eminent Franciscan men and women. In addition to the story of St. Francis
written in verse in 1571, the collection contains a 17th century edition of the theological works of St.
Bonaventure, made up of two volumes bound as one with many of the great Franciscan saint’s
theological treatises, sermons and meditations. The majority of the materials in this collection were
donated to the Library by the Franciscan Friars, friends of the College, and Convivium.
- Convivium Collection: consists of medieval and early modern manuscripts, manuscript leaves and book
leaves. Most of these items were produced in Europe between 1200 and 1685, including an original leaf
Hebrew Torah on extremely heavy vellum, circa 16th century, and a handwritten large manuscript leaf
of an Arabic Koran, an imposing example from Persia circa 1553-1558. The Medieval and Renaissance
Studies program offered at Siena College is supported by the materials in this collection, as are several
courses in literature, history, religious studies and creative arts.
- Rare Catholic Books: features a number of rare and old books related to Roman Catholic theology,
history and practice. Items here include a comprehensive edition of the writings of St. Augustine; the
story of St. Francis of Assisi and his knights of Poverty, the Franciscans; Erasmus of Rotterdam’s
Paraphrases on the Gospel of Matthew, and much more.
- Saint John’s Bible: featuring exquisite calligraphy, vibrant imagery, and stunning gold and silver
illuminations, the Saint John’s Bible Heritage Edition volumes were purchased by Siena in 2017. A fine
art version of the original manuscript created in England by Donald Jackson, Senior Scribe to Queen
Elizabeth, and held at Saint John’s University in Minnesota, the Heritage Edition includes seven volumes
of approximately 1,150 pages encompassing all 73 books from the Old and New Testaments. Each
volume is bound in Italian leather, printed on 100 percent cotton paper, and fully authenticated by
creative director Donald Jackson.
- R.S. Johnson Fine Art Catalogs: consists of 77 art catalogs spanning nearly 40 years on important European and American artists. The catalogs showcase artists from Ayrton to Degas to Picasso to Zavaro and cover a full spectrum of mediums, including paintings, works on paper, woodcuts, lithographs, engravings, etchings, sculptures, and graphic works. As for the art works shown in the catalogs, they range from Old Master prints and drawings dating as far back as 1300 to paintings and drawings of the 19th and 20th centuries.
