First and foremost, the Fleet Special Collections Center exists to augment the College’s academic offerings by acquiring, preserving and providing access to unique old books and other uncommon materials worthy of retention in their own safe space. By enhancing and enriching the general collection in this way, Special Collections provides teaching and research opportunities beyond the regular classroom. Students as well as faculty are encouraged to learn about the use of a rare book room, including the etiquette and care required to conserve aged and delicate materials. Through classes, exhibits and visits to the Fleet Room, all interested parties can learn to handle early modern books, view illuminated medieval manuscripts, examine essential theological works and, in doing so, get a revealing glimpse into publications of the past.
It is the policy of Siena College and Standish Library to develop Special Collections in several core subject areas. Additionally, the College aims to make such materials accessible not only to Siena students and faculty, but to local scholars and the greater community as well. Areas of focus are chosen based on their relevance to Siena’s curriculum and in consultation with associated faculty members. Other acquisition opportunities are considered as they arise. Overall, Special Collections are developed taking into account the material’s scholarly research value, potential for exhibit, and outreach appeal. Materials are also added to Special Collections via transfer from the Library’s main collections. Considerations in these cases include an item’s fragility, age, authenticity as an artifact, and market value. As circumstances change and programs evolve, the development of Special Collections may be reviewed, reevaluated, and modified as needed.
Special Collections at Siena College are dependent almost entirely on non-monetary and monetary gifts for development, with the primary source being non-monetary gifts. The Standish Library Gifts Policy applies to all donations designated for Special Collections. Acquisitions made through purchase invariably entail a monetary gift to the Library. Such purchases are selected from dealer catalogs or other dealer offers. Loans of materials or temporarily deposited items are not accepted for Special Collections.
