New York State History: New York State Resources

The collections in New York Heritage represent a broad range of historical, scholarly, and cultural materials held in libraries, museums, and archives throughout the state. Collection items include photographs, letters, diaries, directories, maps, newspapers, books, and more.

Records of Enslaved Persons and Slave Holders in New York from 1525 though the Civil War.

The digital collections of the Library of Congress contain a wide variety of material associated with New York State, including manuscripts, broadsides, government documents, books, and maps. This guide compiles links to digital materials related to New York that are available throughout the Library of Congress Web site. In addition, it provides links to external Web sites focusing on New York and a bibliography containing selected works for both a general audience and younger readers.

This collection consists of photographs, maps, and posters related to the Love Canal environmental disaster. The Love Canal Images collection forms part of the Love Canal Collection in the University Archives of Special Collections. The University at Buffalo holds the premier collection on Love Canal, the country's most notorious and infamous hazardous waste site.

Near closing time on March 25, 1911, a fire broke out at the Triangle Waist Factory in New York City. Within 18 minutes, 146 people were dead as a result of the fire.

Path Through History gives you an opportunity to learn about and visit the hundreds of museums, parks, galleries and other destinations that help tell the important story of New York and the role it has played in our nation’s history.

The Corridor spans 524 miles across the full expanse of upstate New York. It includes the Erie, Cayuga-Seneca, Oswego, and Champlain Canals and their historic alignments. The Corridor encompasses 4,834 square miles in 23 counties and is home to 2.7 million people.

The first US Presidential Library was started by FDR here. Visit the Home of FDR and Presidential Library & Museum to learn about the only President elected to four terms.

Women’s Rights National Historical Park tells the story of the first Women’s Rights Convention held in Seneca Falls, NY on July 19-20,1848. It is a story of struggles for civil rights, human rights, and equality, global struggles that continue today.

The National September 11 Memorial Museum serves as the country's principal institution concerned with exploring the implications of the events of 9/11, documenting the impact of those events and exploring 9/11's continuing significance.

New York state parks, historic sites, and more.

National Parks located within New York State.

There are over 1,600 local government historians in New York State. The state historian law requires that a local historian is appointed in each city, town, village, or borough, and allows for the appointment of a historian in each county. APHNYS provides listings for all historians in the Empire State.

The Library of Congress offers classroom materials and professional development to help teachers effectively use primary sources from the Library's vast digital collections in their teaching.
Find Library of Congress lesson plans and more that meet Common Core standards, state content standards, and the standards of national organizations.

The Education Department at the New-York Historical Society offers a wealth of resources and learning opportunities designed to make history come alive!

Find lesson plans about America's National Parks.

A teacher's resource guide on the Albany Fire of 1793.