The library provides access to a broad range of copyrighted video content cleared for educational use, as well as an extensive DVD collection. The Streaming Media Request Form must be used when recommending a film for purchase. Please note that when requesting an individual streaming film title, it is generally licensed for one year and will not automatically be renewed.
Find movies, documentaries, foreign films, classic cinema, independent films and educational videos.
Swank includes feature films, documentaries, international films, and television shows.
Scholarly video material of virtually every type: documentaries, interviews, performances, news programs and more.
Symptom Media’s behavioral health clinical training titles are guided by the DSM, incorporating the symptoms into a concise vignette that promotes critical thinking, allows for discussion and analysis of symptoms that creates the optimal learning experience.
A multimedia resource that combines video and client demonstrations with relevant text content to illustrate the complex and challenging realities social work students will face as practitioners.
The Audiovisual Collection provides access to a variety of media materials. The collection contains DVDs, vinyl records, and CDs. Media equipment available for use in the library include a stereo phonograph, DVD/Blu-ray players, audio cassette/ CD players, and monitors. The collection is located on the lower level of the Standish Library.
Section 110 of U.S copyright law (face to face teaching exemption), allows for the performance or display of video or film in a classroom where instruction takes place with enrolled students physically present and the film is related to the curricular goals of the course.
The TEACH Act (Technology, Education, and Copyright Harmonization) amendment to the Copyright Act (§ 110(2)) is specifically designed to deal with online learning/distance education. It permits the performance of a reasonable and limited portion of films streamed or embedded in an online classroom. It does not supersede the fair use doctrine of copyright law, so films that are not allowed by the TEACH Act (feature films and dramatic works) may fall under fair use.
Films in the library's subscription databases can be embedded or linked to in Canvas without violating copyright.
