It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
E-books at Siena: Free e-books on the web
Standish Library offers e-books from several different publishers. This page is intended to introduce and explain the different e-book options that you will come across when searching library resources.
"A collection of public domain documents from American and English literature as well as Western philosophy." Contains several hundred titles, which can be downloaded in PDF, Newton Paperback, Palm and Rocket eBook formats.
"digitalculturebooks is an imprint of the University of Michigan Press dedicated to publishing innovative work in new media studies and digital humanities. We began in 2006 as a partnership between MLibrary and the Press, taking advantage of the skills and expertise of staff throughout Michigan Publishing. Our primary goal is to be an incubator for new publishing models in the humanities and social sciences."
"If the book is out of copyright, or the publisher has given us permission, you'll be able to see a preview of the book, and in some cases the entire text. If it's in the public domain, you're free to download a PDF copy."
"The mission of HathiTrust is to contribute to the common good by collecting, organizing, preserving, communicating,and sharing the record of human knowledge." It is an organization comprised of over fifty libraries and research organizations and continues to grow both in member organizations and in digitized content.
"A digital library of primary sources in American social history from the antebellum period through reconstruction. The collection is particularly strong in the subject areas of education, psychology, American history, sociology, religion, and science and technology. The collection currently contains approximately 8,500 books and 50,000 journal articles with 19th century imprints."
Over 5000 ebooks available to freely download in PDF format. Can download by chapter or the entire book. The NAP was created by the National Academies of Science. Reports from the National Academy of Sciences, National Academy of Engineering, and National Research Council are included here.
A directory listing over 20,000 free books and several serials found on the Web that are searchable by subject. When you find a title you want click the link and you will be taken to the fulltext in most cases.
The oldest producer of free electronic books (eBooks or etexts) on the Internet. Their collection of more than 13,000 eBooks was produced by hundreds of volunteers and includes works in 25 different languages. Most of the eBooks are older literary works whose copyright has expired. All may be freely downloaded and read, and redistributed for non-commercial use. Types of ebooks include reference materials like, dictionaries and almanacs, and literature, including the Bible and short stories of Robert Louis Stevenson.
"UC Press E-Books Collection, 1982-2004, includes almost 2,000 books from academic presses on a range of topics, including art, science, history, music, religion, and fiction.
Access to the entire collection of electronic books is open to all University of California faculty, staff, and students, while more than 700 of the titles are available to the public. Print versions of many of the electronic books can be purchased directly from the publishers."