These provide a general overview of political science as a discipline and represent only a sample of the library's collection. Use the Saint Search box to search the entire catalog.
A Dictionary of Modern Politics by
A comprehensive guide to the complex ideology/terminology which surrounds the world of politics. * Well over 500 extensive definitions * Defines political theories, dogmas and phraseologies * Terms such as Pacifism, Proportional Representation, Jihad, Son of Star Wars, Third Way and Consensual are explained clearly and succinctly * Invaluable for anyone concerned with politics or current affairs.
Encyclopedia of Political Theory by
How do we arrange our collective affairs? Why do we live together in the ways we do? How ought we to live together? All humans think about the world they live in, its history and future, and the ideals by which they want to live in relation to others. How we think today decisively influences the world of tomorrow. This encyclopedia attempts to bring greater clarity and understanding to political debate. Drawing together a team of international scholars, the Encyclopedia of Political Theory examines the ideas of the major political theorists from before Plato to our own times; the main schools of political thought; the concepts and issues that have captured the imagination and attention of political theorists; and some of the main institutions and practices inspired by political thought. With more than 450 entries, these three volumes provide a quick, one-stop source to key topics in the field. Key Features Examines the global landscape of all the key theories and the theorists behind them Includes specific lists of entries that deal with constitutional thought and democratic thought Refers to distinctive norms and features of various governments, legal systems, and societies Devotes large parts to the history of ideas about government, ethics, and society Provides a chronology of political theory to help readers see how a given theorist, school, or issue fits into the bigger historical picture Key Themes Ancient Thought Applied Ethics Biographies Comparative Theory Constitutional Thought Critical Theory Democratic Thought Early Modern Thought International Theory Justice Liberal Theory Medieval Thought Modern Theory Power and Authority Religious Thought Self and Community This work is designed to serve as a reference source for anyone interested in the roots of contemporary political theory. It will be a welcome addition to any academic or public library.
The Palgrave Macmillan Dictionary of Political Thought by
This new edition takes stock of the revolutionary changes that have taken place since the dictionary was first published in 1982. 1790 entries cover every aspect of political thought providing an indispensable guide to the thought, the wisdom and the folly of modern politics by one of the most lucid philosophers of our time.
Political Theory by
Liberty. Justice. Nature. Law. First formulated millennia ago by the founding philosophers of the Western tradition, these basic concepts of human thought remain central to our conception of ourselves, our place in the world, and our relationships with others-that is, our politics. Readers encountering such broad political concepts, their practical expressions in political movements and systems of government, the ideas of influential ancient and modern political thinkers--or simply familiar or unfamiliar catchphrases for which they would like a succinct yet informative explanation--will welcome this accessible encyclopedic guide. The major political concepts, themes, issues, movements, groups, and schools that have developed over time and shaped our modern world appear here in all their diversity, along with biographical entries and articles on the principal works of political theorists from Plato to John Rawls. Further, serious students and browsers alike will delight in the numerous entries on familiar quotations and political catchphrases, from the banality of evil and Big Brother to the war of all against all.
Political Science and Changing Politics by
This introduction to political science provides a good basis for understanding the major changes in contemporary politics. New political currents, movements and ideas are playing an increasingly important role while traditional centres of political power are crumbling and new powers are on the rise. We can understand some of the changes with the insights and theories we have, but now and again we need to modify our theories in the light of the latest developments. An important feature of Political Science and Changing Politics is that it looks at these political developments from a strongly comparative, and also a historical, perspective. The first part deals with a number of important current issues; it addresses topics such as political inequality, the growing importance of collective identity and nationalist sentiment, the future of the welfare state, and the Dutch consensus democracy. The second part deals with the role that citizens, groups and organisations play in contemporary politics. It looks at, among other things, the political views and behavior of citizens and at their changing party preferences, but also at the ways in which political parties cope with this. It considers the growing importance of interest groups, as well as the power of the media in politics today.
The Study of Politics by
The Study of Politics explores and addresses the implications of committing to specific principles and methodologies in political science research.
