LGBTQ Resources

Part of the Archives of Sexuality and Gender project, "LGBTQ History and Culture since 1940, Part I presents important aspects of LGBTQ life in the second half of the twentieth century and beyond. The archive illuminates the experiences not just of the LGBTQ community as a whole, but of individuals of different races, ethnicities, ages, religions, political orientations, and geographical locations that constitute this community. Historical records of political and social organizations founded by LGBTQ individuals are featured, as well as publications by and for lesbians and gays, and extensive coverage of governmental responses to the AIDS crisis. The archive also contains personal correspondence and interviews with numerous LGBTQ individuals, among others. The archive includes gay and lesbian newspapers from more than 35 countries, reports, policy statements, and other documents related to gay rights and health, including the worldwide impact of AIDS, materials tracing LGBTQ activism in Britain from 1950 through 1980, and more."

Part II focuses on groups. "Since the 1940's, LGBTQ groups have steadily emerged into society, fighting for equal rights and making their voices heard. Even within the LGBTQ community though, some groups have not been as well represented, or received as much of the limelight, as the more “mainstream” lesbians and gays. LGBTQ History and Culture Since 1940, Part II provides coverage of these groups, including LG student groups, Two-Spirit people, the Jewish LGBTQ community, LG Christian groups, and bisexual, transvestite, and transgender communities."