Standish Library: Sports Marketing: Databases & Articles

Locating Articles

ABI/Inform Complete This link opens in a new window
A great source for articles from scholarly business journals,as well as key business and trade magazines.
Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
This multi-disciplinary database provides full text for more than 3,100 journals, including full text for nearly 2,700 peer-reviewed titles.
APA PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
The most comprehensive source for literature on psychology. Terrific for topics such as brand loyalty, consumer behavior, organizational behavior, business ethics, and leadership styles.
Business and Legal Aspects of Sports and Entertainment This link opens in a new window
Business Source Ultimate This link opens in a new window
Another great source for articles from scholarly business journals, as well as key business and trade magazines.
ProQuest Business This link opens in a new window
Searching ProQuest Business includes the following collections: ABI /Inform Complete, Accounting, Tax, and Banking, Asian & European.Business, Business Market Research, Canadian Business & Current Affairs, Career & Technical Education, India Database, and Research Library: Business.
ProQuest Central This link opens in a new window
If it is in ProQuest Central, it is also in ProQuest Business.
Science Direct (Elsevier) This link opens in a new window
Ignore this database's title. This is a terrific source for articles related to all types of business disciplines including accounting, economics, finance, management, and marketing.
Sports Market Analytics (SBRnet) This link opens in a new window

Using Industry Classification Systems

Many research databases allow you to search by industry code, therefore It will be useful to know if the product or innovation you are researching is classified by an industrial classification system. These systems organize products by code and will help you to find industry surveys, top competitors, recent news and more. Here are just a few examples.

Sporting and Athletic Goods Manufacturing
NAICS 339920

Sports and Recreational Goods and Supplies Merchant Wholesalers
NAICS 423910

Sporting Goods Stores
NAICS 451110

Find your industry code:

North American Industry Classification System (NAICS)

Standard Industrial Classification (SIC)

Industry & Company Information

Business Insights: Essentials (provided by NOVELny) This link opens in a new window
Provides company and industrial profiles including SWOT reports, market share reports, and financial data. Also includes articles from business,trade, and scholarly publications.
Statista This link opens in a new window
Categorized into 21 market sectors, Statista integrates data on over 80,000 topics from over 18,000 sources onto a single platform.
IBISWorld This link opens in a new window
US Industry Reports based on NAICS codes. The US Specialized Industry Reports are a great source for some very specialized and new industries. Siena's subscription also includes US iExpert Summaries, US Industry State Reports, and US Business Environmental Profiles. Industry reports for Australia, Canada, China, New Zealand, Mexico, and the United Kingdom are included.

Sports Marketing Journals

Newspapers

Albany Times Union (current day image edition) This link opens in a new window
Newsbank Access World News This link opens in a new window
Includes the Albany Times Union and the HArtford Courant
The New York Times (annual account registration) This link opens in a new window
New York Times This link opens in a new window

Flipster

Flipster This link opens in a new window
A digital magazine platform that makes it easy for you to read your favorite magazine on your mobile device.Includes: Sports Illustrated, Runner's World, Ski, Backpacker, Yoga Journal, and Outside.