Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

E-books at Siena: Collection Info

Standish Library offers e-books from several different publishers. This page is intended to introduce and explain the different e-book options that you will come across when searching library resources.

Important Notice!

The Bluefire Reader is no longer supported and available.  The vendors are looking to see if something else can be done for offline downloads.  Remember you can still read online and download "chunks" of a book as a pdf.  If a title is DRM-free you should be able to download the pdf without issue.  You can still download to your PC or Mac with the Adobe Digital Editions software.  

E-book Collections at Siena

Each collection varies in terms of usage, printing and access capabilities.  See the collection specific information (tabs above) for further details.

EBSCO Academic E-book collection

Featuring over 150,000 e-books from a variety of publishers, EBSCO's e-book package is available via the EBSCO e-book database and will display when using Saint Search.  You can locate a link into the database from the Database A-Z list.  An additional link is under the Interdisciplinary databases page.   An website of EBSCO specific collection information is located here.  Additionally, there are directions for downloading these e-books onto your PC, reader or mobile device located on above entitled link 'Downloading EBSCO e-books'.

Check out EBSCO's libguide for their ebooks here for more information.

E-books at JSTOR

Available through ConnectNY, this Evidence Based Acquisition program provides access to tens of thousands of e-books and at the end of each academic year the ConnectNY e-book committee selects titles the consortium will purchase. E-books are available directly via the database and are also visible using our discovery tool, Saint Search. 

ProQuest Academic Complete collection

Academic Complete offers libraries an affordable, critical mass of ~150,000 multidisciplinary e-books with unlimited, multi-user access, powerful research tools and DRM-free chapter downloads.  This collection is available of the Ebook Central platform as well as integrated into Saint Search results.

Wiley e-books (o-books)

Currently numbering under thirty titles, e-books from Wiley are also available via CYRIL.  Some information specific to Wiley e-books:

  • The linking text to get to the Wiley e-book full text reads as "Click here to access e-book" in CYRIL.
  • There is no limit to concurrent users for Wiley titles.
  • Full-text opens as a pdf making it convenient for saving and/or printing
  • E-books are available via the Wiley Online Library platform.
  • Wiley sometimes refers to electronic books available to institutions as o-books (online books).

Click here for a user guide to the platform.

Featured e-book

Just a reminder...

Generally speaking, e-books are available only to the members of the institution which purchased the e-book and are not available for interlibrary loan. 

If you are searching another catalog and see an e-book there is a very good chance that you will not be able to have access to it.  However, it is likely that it is also published in print and a librarian can help you find a print copy if needed.

Need an e-book we don't have?

You can request an e-book for purchase by filling out this form